Living Legends Honored at 2002 APH Annual Meeting

The living legends pose with their Hall of Fame plaques
(Click for large, high resolution picture. Picture opens in a new window)

On Thursday, October 10, 2002, APH opened the 134th Annual Meeting of Ex Officio Trustees with a celebration of the Living Legends of the Hall of Fame: Leaders and Legends of the Blindness Field. Nine of the ten Living Legends were in attendance (left to right in photo): Ruth Kaarlela, Samuel Ashcroft, Natalie Barraga, Cleo Dolan, Eleanor Faye, Louis Vieceli, Alice Raftary, Stanley Suterko, and Donald Wedewer.

The opening session was followed by a reception in the Living Legends’ honor. Here are some photos commemorating that wonderful evening. Photo captions are revealed when you place the mouse cursor on a picture.

Ruth Kaarlela and Alice Raftary
Alice Raftary and Stanley Suterko
The Advisory Committee to the Hall of Fame
Warren Bledsoe appeared by video from Baltimore. Accompanied by his daughter, Hester Anne Butterfield, he accepts his Hall of Fame plaque from Lou Tutt, EOT from the Maryland School for the Blind.
Natalie Barraga
Raymond Raftary, Alice Raftary, and Mary Nelle McLennan
Ruth Kaarlela and Louis Vieceli
Tuck Tinsley welcomes the crowd Phil Hatlen facilitated the event Samuel Ashcroft Natalie Barraga Cleo Dolan Eleanor Faye Ruth Kaarlela Alice Raftary Stanley Suterko Louis Vieceli Donald Wedewer